Archives

Delta: Redemption by Cristin Harber

Posted in Contemporary Romance/ Military/Paramilitary/ Mystery/Crime/ Reviews/ Romantic Suspense 28th July 2017
Delta: Redemption by Cristin HarberDelta: Redemption by Cristin Harber
Series: Delta #4
Published by Mill Creek Press on July 25th 2017
Pages: 306
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
two-stars

“My name’s Victoria—No last name. Don’t ask.”

That was all that the woman would share when Delta team’s expert trigger man, an Australian named Ryder, pulled her from the pits of a human trafficking nightmare and took the gun from her hand.

He didn’t mean to steal her revenge but survival was the priority. Now that Victoria was home? She had a past he was trying to understand while keeping a secret from her that might tear her apart.

But he’s not the only one. When she goes missing, Delta team discovers that Victoria No Name was a one-woman vigilante force, taking on whoever crossed her path, from gun runners to a drug pushing motorcycle club.

She was exactly who Ryder thought she might be, and now he was coming in to help—whether she wanted backup or not.

Cristin Harber’s books used to be like crack for me, though I’ve got to admit that I’ve been disappointed in them as the Titan series grows. Harber does write good suspense; everything that involves Titan is typically drawn out, fairly complex and what they do actually rolls out hypothetical scenarios that aren’t too hard to envision coming true of late. ‘Delta: Redemption’ is Victoria/Ryder’s book, 2 secondary characters that I’d long forgotten about in Harber’s previous book, but it wasn’t hard to get caught up in the hostile Russian conspiracy in middle-America and the shady link to the brutal world of human trafficking.

I liked the start of the story, as Cristin Harber portrayed a victim of circumstances and rape who’d lost her self-confidence and her perceived standing in her small-town community. Both Ryder and Victoria’s connection was…for the want of a better word…a sympathetic one which I thought I could relate to. Both had lost something/someone and Harber certainly writes that soul-deep connection between the both of them especially well as Victoria was recovering from her ordeal.

But it went downhill for me from that point onwards and yes, was Victoria herself who rubbed me the wrong way. Upfront, I felt the problem was her TSTL behaviour that proved to be the costly catalyst that helped account for the action that happened in the rest of the book. Insisting on going at things alone when she knew full well that she needed help on this was stupidity of epic proportions; going ahead full steam while actually condemning herself–which shows some amount of perception that she wasn’t doing it right–for keeping things secret made it worse.

The need for revenge is always explained away as a lone-wolf, bloodthirsty, cannot-be-ignored trait and it’s simply reiterated here with her PTSD seemed swept under the rug with a softly-softly approach that Titan gave her, as did her friend Seven, ironically proving exactly what she never wanted others to think of her from the start: helpless when it came to crunch time yet having no issues eluding and deceiving when it suited her, only to lead Titan/Delta to her rescue a second time.

I’m all for assertion of independence, though all too often it’s done without thought, which then crosses the line straight into idiocy for me. ‘Delta: Redemption’ was to say the least, a read that didn’t go down too well, though clearly, what I ranted above has been one of my personal beefs for a long time. I couldn’t stop my eye-rolling for a long time, but as I’ve always said, just because it didn’t go too well for me, doesn’t mean it wouldn’t for others as well. In fact, I’m quite happy to say the opposite, in fact, happens.

two-stars

Locke and Key by Cristin Harber

Posted in Contemporary Romance/ Military/Paramilitary/ Reviews/ Romantic Suspense 27th May 2017
Locke and Key by Cristin HarberLocke and Key by Cristin Harber
Series: Titan #8
Published by Mill Creek Press on May 2nd 2017
Pages: 312
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
two-stars

THE STOIC SPECIAL FORCES OPERATOR There’s only one person to blame for darkening the last years of Locke Oliver’s military career: Cassidy Noble. And damn if he doesn’t have to save her from the side of a frozen mountain. Even after the job is done, he can’t shake the woman from his thoughts. He blames her for the deaths in his Army unit so many years ago, and he’s not ready to let that go. It’s driving him to the point of distraction, and now his Titan Group boss says to get his act together or get out.
THE FEISTY, FALLEN REPORTER Cassidy is a disgraced journalist, once accused of treason—Or she’s an American hero. It depends on who you ask. She’s on a mission to rebuild her name and started with a simple question but discovered a complex web of spies and possible human trafficking. Titan Group believes in her. Locke does not. Until he can’t deny the truth any longer about the past or what she’s uncovered in her investigation.
BECOME AN INSEPARABLE TEAM Cassidy volunteers to go undercover. Locke would do anything to stay by her side as she slips into the network and is sold to the highest bidder. All is going right until everything goes wrong. Nothing is as they expect, including falling in love with the woman he thought he hated.

It took me an extraordinarily long time to go through this book that I’m actually wondering whether it’s sort of the end of the Titan series for me right now.

Having been a fan of Titan in the early days, I wondered how Cristin Harber was going to go on with the series after Jared Westin’s core team had found their respective HEAs. ‘Locke and Key’ is a book past that particular series arc but I’ve been struggling since the chapter closed on the core team.

I’ve admittedly found myself lukewarm and half-hearted about the Titan series after Parker’s book came out as a dud for me but the biggest problem in ‘Locke and Key’ was that I couldn’t find any character likeable, despite them having been fantastic protagonists in their own time in previous books who have since undergone some personality transplants. Here, they came across as volatile idiots lacking compassion or any sense of kinship and that famous ‘brotherhood-in-arms’ spirit which I tend to read about in RS books seemed sorely lacking here. Instead, what I saw was loads of peacock strutting, macho posturing and too many over-the-top type of reactions that felt like petty and unnecessary squabbles.

In essence, the volatility of the characters’ behaviours resulted in my own volatile reactions to difference scenes and dialogues. There were chapters that made me think I could get behind some characters and other chapters that had me rolling my eyes and ready to give up the book. The only things that kept me going were the secondary characters whose fight Titan inevitably became a part of to reunite their family and I read on, cheering for them alone.

Obviously, it’s one of those books that grated on me, but I’m hoping at least, that the overall sense of dissatisfaction with the series might pass. Whether there’ll still be Titan or Delta in my to-be-read list however, well, that’s still something that’s up in the air for me.

two-stars

Black Dawn by Cristin Harber

Posted in Contemporary Romance/ Military/Paramilitary/ Reviews/ Romantic Suspense 14th July 2015
Black Dawn by Cristin HarberBlack Dawn by Cristin Harber
Series: Titan #6
Published by Mill Creek Press on July 14th 2015
Pages: 288
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Parker Black wants the one woman he shouldn’t have—his buddy’s girl. She's sweet and smart, but clueless about how deep Parker lives in Titan’s virtual world. Everything is controlled. Chaos is mastered. Black and white data and risk analysis. That is the way he understands his world, how he plays his role to keep Titan teams alive.
But he’s wrong.
About everything.
Lexi Dare lives two lives. She’s an unhappy fiancée stuck in a spiraling relationship, unsure how she ended up with a ring on her finger and an abuser in her bed. But she’s also elusive. Elite. A master hacker playing deadly stakes.
When the lines blur and the truth comes out, Lexi’s only shot at survival is the trust of her rival—her equal—before it’s too late.

Going into Parker Black’s world is like stepping into hacker central and BlackDawn, his virtual codename – unbeknownst to him – has actually been an anchor for another hacker named Silver Chaos for the past decade. But Silver Chaos is in fact, Lexi Dare, a woman who in real life, is a victim of abuse, and in the small world of Titan, Lexi also happens to be the fiancée of Parker’s friend Matt.

Other Titan characters flit in and out of the story, but Black Dawn is really, a step away from an actual Titan op and into the fluid ethical boundaries of hacking and coding, a world that Parker has always believed is black and white. Parker’s professional and personal lives are set on a collision course when Lexi stumbles into his life; discovering her true virtual identity pushes them into unimaginable danger just as his attraction to her spikes along the way.

I thought this latest Titan installment was just entertaining as the previous Titan books have been, even if the action is over-the-top and require way more than a tad bit of suspension of disbelief, even if there’re few principles of hacking and coding that I truly understand. Instead, I’ve always been drawn to Titan’s quirky characters, their funny names and their antics, especially the alpha men who are strangely unafraid to fall into their heroines’ arms and call time on their bachelor status. Parker Black might be the latest, but hopefully not last to do so, if his story truly signals the end of the Titan series.

four-stars

Hart Attack by Cristin Harber

Posted in Contemporary Romance/ Military/Paramilitary/ Reviews/ Romantic Suspense 19th November 2014
Hart Attack by Cristin HarberHart Attack by Cristin Harber
Series: Titan, #5
Published by Mill Creek Press on November 18th 2014
Pages: 268
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Outside of Titan Group, there are few people that Roman Hart would die for. He’s a soldier, a protector, and he’s haunted that one of the people he should’ve been able to protect didn’t let him. That was years ago, and now a hardened heart and a cocky attitude are his impenetrable shields, until one woman—one challenge—drives him to distraction.
On the outside, Beth Tourne has it all. Luxury car, gorgeous condo, and a job partying with the rich and famous. It’s a plush CIA cover, but she wants more. Anything for an adrenaline rush that can override her guilty numbness and let her forget the tragedy she never saw coming.
Their scars make them perfect operatives. Their mirrored pasts give them deep, wounded reasons to stay alone. But the more they ignore the tension, the more vulnerable they become. Survival means trust. In one another, behind closed doors, and on the job. The only way they’re making it out alive is if they find peace while waging a war.

The Titan Boys typically occupy a space in my head that’s between the categories ‘crack’ and ‘Alpha male superstore’ and Cristin Harber writes in a way that painfully reminds you these men are solidly planted in fiction la-la land than in reality.


Still, they’re enjoyable as hell. I’ve always liked how Cristin Harber’s men never shy away or run from their developing feelings and we never quite see it more clearly here, in Hart Attack.

Roman Hart’s pain over losing his sister Nic isn’t easily brushed away as Cash Garrison’s acceptance and serves as a brutal reminder why he would never let anyone close again. Beth Tourne was a flighty party girl the last I remembered of her in Nicola’s book until we learn that she has been in deep cover for years – a cover that is the only thing that helps her go on day to day after her husband’s suicide. And the push-pull, innocent game that they have been playing goes to hell in a basket when an assignment asks way more of what Beth is willing to give. While I don’t claim to understand the shady dealings of the CIA and Nukes and Drugs (Ms Harber doesn’t really clarify the sequence of events or their details too clearly) in Hart Attack, what really comes through clearly is Beth’s and Roman’s dancing around each other until something gives, big time.

I did enjoy reading this, though the wacky dialogue (a custom-made Rocket Launcher called The Jared?!) stumped me from time to time and the epilogue was like Santa coming early with several storks as presents.

four-stars

Delta: Retribution by Cristin Harber

Posted in Contemporary Romance/ Military/Paramilitary/ New Adult/ Reviews/ Romantic Suspense/ Young Adult 22nd July 2014
Delta: Retribution by Cristin HarberDelta: Retribution by Cristin Harber
Series: Delta, #1
Published by Mill Creek Press on August 8th 2014
Pages: 112
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Fallen Navy SEAL and Titan Group’s Delta recruit Trace Reeves wants nothing more than a one-night stand to forget that his twin brother was killed-in-action. But when his one-time fling becomes his high value target, the lines blur between her rescue mission and saving himself.

This felt as though I was reading New Adult Military romance, which was sort of strange after being exposed to the seasoned and hot Titan guys. The highlight of the story really was seeing Jared again and the show down with Trace that was expectedly over the top and a fight of the Alpha and the upcoming Alpha.

I’m still hung up on the main Titan guys but hey, I won’t say no to a whole new Delta series, since they intrigued me from the moment they were mentioned.

four-stars
Back to top

Pin It on Pinterest