Archives

Irresistible You by Kate Meader

Posted in Advanced Reader Copy/ Chick Lit/ Contemporary Romance/ Netgalley/ Reviews/ Sports 19th June 2017
Irresistible You by Kate MeaderIrresistible You by Kate Meader
Series: Chicago Rebels #1
Published by Pocket Star on August 14th 2017
Pages: 300
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Three estranged sisters inherit their late father’s failing hockey franchise and are forced to confront a man’s world, their family’s demons, and the battle-hardened ice warriors skating into their hearts.

Harper Chase has just become the most powerful woman in the NHL after the death of her father Clifford Chase, maverick owner of the Chicago Rebels. But the team is a hot mess—underfunded, overweight, and close to tapping out of the league. Hell-bent on turning the luckless franchise around, Harper won’t let anything stand in her way. Not her gender, not her sisters, and especially not a veteran player with an attitude problem and a smoldering gaze designed to melt her ice-compacted defenses.

Veteran center Remy “Jinx” DuPre is on the downside of a career that’s seen him win big sponsorships, fans’ hearts, and more than a few notches on his stick. Only one goal has eluded him: the Stanley Cup. Sure, he’s been labeled as the unluckiest guy in the league, but with his recent streak of good play, he knows this is his year. So why the hell is he being shunted off to a failing hockey franchise run by a ball-buster in heels? And is she seriously expecting him to lead her band of misfit losers to a coveted spot in the playoffs?

He’d have a better chance of leading Harper on a merry skate to his bed…

‘Irresistible You’ has an irresistible setup: a team down in the dumps, a bastard ex-owner, his three daughters who are estranged half-sisters, a near-hostile meeting between a new owner (who’s really been screwed over by her father) and an unwilling trade in hockey, with sparks and secret deals all around.

Kate Meader’s stylish, confident writing shows up so clearly here, and it’s easy to get swept along by the plot and her characters. It had me wanting to know how Remy Du Pre and Harper Chase would get from ‘enemies’ to lovers so to speak, and I loved the tension from the very beginning and the inevitable pull they felt towards each other in Remy’s stomping ground in the exotic (and some say magical) New Orleans.

The progression did lag in the middle for me as Remy and Harper dwelled too much on the potential consequences of carrying on as a couple. I didn’t exactly like Harper’s slowness and unwillingness to fight for Remy (who never gave up on her) just as the latter’s good humour and laid-back candidness won me over. Yet Harper does alright in the end and their happy-for-now is most likely just the start of what’s going to be a longer journey in a bigger story arc that I suspect, will involve the entire team as time goes on.

The uneven pacing aside, hockey isn’t my sport, so the terminology is lost on me, but Meader does make it more about the pairing than the actual sport and the management of it as Remy/Harper’s relationship goes from grudging respect to something more. I loved how well-crafted both of them really are (here, the tiny details make the cake) as Meader does brilliant work enunciating their insecurities and their motivations while leaving the potential for a deadbeat team to reach the playoffs. With Harper’s sisters wait in the wings for their own HEAs, that’s a hook and a teaser I can’t say no to.

four-stars

Hot on Ice: A Hockey Romance Anthology

Posted in Advanced Reader Copy/ Chick Lit/ Contemporary Romance/ Reviews/ Sports 1st March 2017
Hot on Ice: A Hockey Romance AnthologyHot on Ice: A Hockey Romance Anthology by Avery Flynn, Robin Covington, Kimberly Kincaid, Nana Malone, Virginia Nelson, Xio Axelrod, Christi Barth, Andie J. Christopher, Kim Golden, Lena Hart, Desiree Holt, Robin Kaye, Katie Kenyhercz, Heather Long, Kate Meader, Angi Morgan, Susan Scott Shelley, Misty D. Waters
Series: Chicago Rebels #0.5
Published by Avery Flynn on March 21st 2017
Pages: 1800
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

Get ready to fall in love with the smokin’ hot hockey players of the New Orleans Cajun Rage. After this season’s Cinderella run all the way to the Finals, these heroes have won the Cup—and now your heart is the goal.

‘Hot on Ice’ follows every single team member of the fictional New Orleans Cajun Rage after they’ve won the coveted cup and how the cup, like some magical catalyst, helps bring them get to their HEA that some feel (rightly so, to be honest) they don’t deserve. By the end of the book, I found it somewhat amusing that entire hockey team has found love, as though the cup has helped guaranteed success in their love lives as well.

Like every anthology, the quality of writing varies quite significantly and it can be quite an experience sorting through all of them, like finding gems in a huge haystack. There were some stories that I enjoyed (and found believable) more than others because of the stylish and more sophisticated way of writing, as well as how well some authors handled the typical romance tropes in them. Some others, well…I did find them cringeworthy.

The ARC I received felt like it was in its ‘developmental’ stage though; the formatting didn’t always work in my laptop or my e-reader (I don’t use a Kindle, maybe that’s why) for several chapters and there is still some editing work (grammar/spelling, for instance) that needs to be done to make the final version a more polished one.

*ARC kindly given by the authors
(always grateful, mind)

three-stars

Sparking the Fire by Kate Meader

Posted in Chick Lit/ Contemporary Romance/ Reviews 27th September 2016
Sparking the Fire by Kate MeaderSparking the Fire by Kate Meader
Series: Hot in Chicago, #3
Published by Pocket Books on September 27th 2016
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
one-star

The flames of desire burn out of control in this sexy third novel when ex-lovers unexpectedly reunite for a sizzling affair that will have the director yelling, “Quiet on the set!”
Actor Molly Cade, America’s fallen sweetheart, finally has her shot at a Hollywood comeback with a dramatic new role as a tough-as-nails firefighter that promises to propel her back to the big time and restore her self-respect.
Wyatt Fox, resident daredevil at Engine Co. 6, needs a low-key job to keep him busy while he recovers from his latest rescue stunt. Consulting on a local movie shoot should add just enough spark to his day. Especially when in struts Molly Cade: the woman who worked his heart over good, and then left him in the Windy City dust.
Their story is straight out of a script: irrepressible, spunky heroine meets taciturn, smoldering hero. But these two refuse to be typecast, and when the embers of an old love are stoked, someone is bound to get burned…

This first paragraph it seems, has to be my disclaimer. I’ve always enjoyed Kate Meader’s writing. Like her confident use of words and phrases, the odd bits of humour injected into the book despite the ridiculous exaggerations at times.

‘Sparking the Fire’ was one on the ‘to-read’ list for a long time, because I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the strong, silent and smouldering type, whose mysterious ways intrigued me from the start. But if I liked Wyatt Fox, I found myself detesting everything Molly Cade is. She is unfortunately, anything but irrepressible and spunky and an epic fail of a feminist icon or the independent modern woman, by coming across instead as a spoilt, entitled and flouncy actress who insists on getting her way and to whom everyone must bow, especially Wyatt.

I found it impossible to connect with an immature, reckless excuse of a ‘heroine’ who expected life to go her way or the highway, without an inch of compromise and respect when it came to Wyatt, particularly for his job which he knows better than what she proclaims she does.

I struggled, as a consequence. Huffed and puffed through my growing annoyance until I threw it in midway.

That much did I find myself wanting to put down the book because every little thing Molly did or said irked me immensely—and what use is the romance, when I can’t even buy into a couple I’m not entirely sure is suited to each other?

one-star

One Week to Score by Kate Meader

Posted in Advanced Reader Copy/ Chick Lit/ Contemporary Romance/ Erotica/ Netgalley/ Reviews 3rd July 2016
One Week to Score by Kate MeaderOne Week to Score by Kate Meader
Series: ,
Published by Entangled: Brazen on July 11th 2016
Pages: 154
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
two-stars

He’s the man she loves to hate…
Olivia Kane’s wedding day has just imploded spectacularly. Shots lined up at the bar? Bring it. Hot stranger on the hook? Come on down. What this party does not need is six feet and change of home-grown Texas cockiness in the form of her brother’s best friend, the man who broke her heart seven years ago.She’s the woman he has to have…
Flynn Cross won’t stand by while Liv finds sensual solace in the arms of a stranger, not when his own hard-for-her body is more than up for the task. For one week, he’ll make her honeymoon-for-one a sizzling party for two.
Breaking the rules, one steamy night at a time…
But the taboo they’re breaking is only the beginning…and Flynn’s part in Liv’s wedding debacle could bring about their end.

Manwhore alert: the only factor I hadn’t expected in my impatient wait for Olivia and Flynn’s story and that unfortunately, proved a huge stumbling block in my overall enjoyment of the story. But when I spent more time grimacing than feeling the tingles going through the pages, I thought that I really had a problem here, both with my own personal gripes as well with a questionable male lead character who’ve accomplished nothing to convince me of his ability to be what the female lead deserves after all he’d done to her.

‘One Week to Score’ is Olivia’s and Flynn’s story, a brother’s best friend trope that I still salivate over despite the numerous incarnations of it I’ve torn through. There’s sizzling tension, hot sex, and Kate Meader doesn’t waste any time getting down and dirty the moment – courtesy of the Brazen imprint – as Olivia and Flynn shrug off the shackles of family and a fiasco of a wedding that never happened for a week in Mexico.

I’m beyond disappointed to say this one tried my patience sorely because I was all the more so, after the previous book, eagerly waiting for their story. It was near impossible to like Flynn, who, for all his proclamations about always wanting Olivia, did everything otherwise to show it. Selfish and cowardly with a penchant for going off the bend and screwing everything that moves each time some obstacle is thrown in his way, I found very little redeeming qualities in him – especially the one where he just can’t man up – when he finally decides to proposition Olivia under the pretense of being her blatant sex-rebound toy. That he’d thrown his history with Olivia away for seven years somehow made it even more unforgivable. And perhaps this is an issue with pacing, but I thought the speed at which Olivia/Flynn reconciled was way too fast for me as though shrugging off their complicated past by the end of the book was nothing more than a flick away of lint from the shoulder.

Dissatisfied, I went to bed, tossed around a little and tried to see if morning would give me some perspective. I’m sad to say it hasn’t. Just typing this review is difficult, made even more so because I actually like Meader’s smart-alecky writing and the quirky way her characters think and behave. This one’s simply a blip that I’m already trying to forget.

two-stars

Taking the Score by Kate Meader

Posted in Advanced Reader Copy/ Chick Lit/ Contemporary Romance/ Netgalley/ Reviews 7th February 2016
Taking the Score by Kate MeaderTaking the Score by Kate Meader
Series: , Dark, , #2
Published by Entangled: Brazen on February 15th 2016
Pages: 262
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

His office temptation is now his full-blown fantasy…
Paying down her sister’s debts has left personal assistant Emma Strickland with little more than the thrift store suit on her back. And as if the suckfest couldn’t get worse, she’s forced to get a second job as a waitress to support herself and her cat. At a strip club. Her uptight, sexy-as-hell boss Brody Kane can never find out.
Texas property tycoon Brody Kane hired Emma for her spreadsheet skills, but her prim and proper demeanor sealed the deal. There’s no room in his life for a sexy distraction…and yet, he can’t stop lusting after the delicious Ms. Strickland.
But then he takes an important client to a Chicago strip club and gets the worst lap dance in adult entertainment history. From Emma.
Now that he knows his office good girl has a naughty streak, Brody makes it his mission to uncover her secrets, one illicit, over-the-desk encounter at a time. But Emma is hiding more than her side job, and her final secret could end up destroying them both.

The double-life Brody Kane’s PA is leading is way more up his alley than anyone can ever imagine, after his fantasies burst into life in a seedy back room of a strip club. Emma Strickland, as he finds out, is a chameleon running from her past, working hard to keep out of debt and failing miserably at all of it. Temporarily putting her up in his apartment, Brody and Emma eventually work their lustful way through a strange relationship so full of emotional tugs-of war that the growing connection between the both of them is nearly severed before it can be strengthened.

‘Taking the Score’ is one of those books where I really liked a character and disliked the other, which leaves me in a fix when it comes to rating this. Brody’s gruff openness and his (in)ability to take care of things the only way he knows how won me over immediately. Unfortunately, I found it hard to reconcile all the various pieces of Emma’s personality, especially after the initial showing of enviable independence turned into mule-headed stubbornness and unreasoning distrust that ultimately made Brody pay (literally and emotionally) for her own insecurities. Emma takes more than she gives – at least where Brody is concerned – and dishing out her affection rather measly only after she is convinced of his own felt like the last selfish act that I couldn’t tolerate, especially in the epilogue.

That being said, Kate Meader’s snappy dialogue and buoyant storytelling make this story engaging and at times, lough-out-loud funny. The continual subtext involving the issues of control and allowing burdens to be shared is so eloquently put out that I can’t help but want the next installment immediately – even if it’s just to read Ms. Meader’s special way with words.

three-stars

Playing with Fire by Kate Meader

Posted in Advanced Reader Copy/ Chick Lit/ Contemporary Romance/ Netgalley/ Reviews 21st July 2015
Playing with Fire by Kate MeaderPlaying with Fire by Kate Meader
Series: Hot in Chicago, #2
Published by Pocket Books on September 29th 2015
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

As the only female firefighter at Engine Co. 6, Alexandra Dempsey gets it from all sides: the male coworkers who think she can’t do the job, the wives and girlfriends who see her as a threat to their firefighter men, and her overprotective foster brothers who want to shelter their baby sister at all costs. So when she single-handedly saves the life of Eli Cooper, Chicago’s devastatingly handsome mayor, she assumes the respect she’s longed for will finally come her way. But it seems Mr. Mayor has other ideas…
Eli Cooper’s mayoral ratings are plummeting, his chances at reelection dead in the water. When a sexy, curvaceous firefighter gives him the kiss of life, she does more than bring him back to the land of the living—she also breathes vitality into his campaign. Riding the wave of their feel-good story might prop up Eli’s flagging political fortunes, but the sizzling attraction between them can go nowhere; he’s her boss, and there are rules that must be obeyed. But you know what they say about rules: they’re made to be broken…

Women always need to fight – tooth and nail – for the things men take for granted in men-centred occupations…that much is the creed that Alexandra Dempsey lives by. That principle holds especially when she butts heads with Eli Cooper, who rubs her exactly the wrong way when he suggests that women have no place in men’s work. She hates the man, but wants him and is perfectly content for this weird antagonistic, tension-filled relationship to remain that way until Eli Cooper proposes a beneficial move that will keep her family out of trouble while boosting his mayoral bid.

Thus begins a ‘fake relationship’ but both Alex and Eli soon find themselves facing towering obstacles as well as their own issues that threaten to topple this fledging and fragile connection they’ve forged. There’s a lot of chaos written into the story beyond the drama – greatly contributed to by the rest of the noisy Dempseys – and I can’t help but think that this book, like the first, continues its loving tribute to families and the (sometimes overprotective) support they generate for wayward members.

Kate Meader’s unusual writing and punchy style is the winner here, bursting with the unapologetic, confidence feel of chick lit writing, punctuated by healthy doses of humour in unexpected places. But I think ‘Playing with Fire’ should actually be called ‘Playing with the Shrew’, because that hate-love relationship never did seem to progress any much more than 1 step forward and 2 steps back. Alex’s determined self-righteous attitude towards…every small thing was beyond grating and the tendency to victimise herself wasn’t the lot I felt I could throw behind this particular heroine – to the point where I felt that Eli, despite having his own agenda and a bucketload of idiocy, was still the more truthful (and that’s saying a lot!) of the both of them. I wasn’t too sure about the combativeness that still remained by the end of the book, but Ms. Meader sure understands her readers’ need for an unquestioning HEA.

three-stars

Even the Score by Kate Meader

Posted in Advanced Reader Copy/ Chick Lit/ Contemporary Romance/ Netgalley/ Reviews 5th July 2015
Even the Score by Kate MeaderEven The Score by Kate Meader
Series: , Dark,
Published by Entangled: Brazen on July 21st 2015
Pages: 253
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

Actress Tess McKenzie is performing in the Tenth Circle of Showbiz Hell-dinner theater. All she really wants is to start a theater of her own. Then Tess receives an offer she can't refuse. She'll get her funding...if she pretends to be the fiancée to her nemesis, Texan property tycoon Hunter Dade. If she's going to pull this off, she'll need all the luck she can get. Break a leg, indeed.
On the verge of a big business deal, Hunter needs to hire a fiancée. He hasn't quite forgiven Tess for ruining his wedding, but when their chemistry goes from combative to straight-up lust, the "no sex" clause in their mutually beneficial arrangement is tested. Which is a serious problem, because if Tess isn't careful, she'll go from breaking a leg to breaking her heart...

Texas magnate Hunter Dade and failing theatre actress Tess McKenzie follow a well-trodden, if rocky, path to happiness – a path that began on the wrong footing a year ago – helped along by a huge dose of combustible chemistry. No major surprises here even if it got a little frustrating at times but the predictability of events and characters is offset by Kate Meader’s confident and witty writing. I particularly liked the peripheral characters more than Hunter and Tess (even if it might sound like a travesty to say that here) and if Kate Meader decides to work her magic on them, I most certainly wouldn’t mind.

three-stars
Back to top

Pin It on Pinterest

X