Author: Elisabeth Naughton

Unspeakable by Elisabeth Naughton

Unspeakable by Elisabeth NaughtonUnspeakable by Elisabeth Naughton
Series: Deadly Secrets #4
Published by Montlake Romance on 20th November 2018
Pages: 304
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

All his siblings have moved on from their troubling pasts, but Rusty McClane can’t leave his behind. Not even when his freedom is in jeopardy.

Legal investigator Harper Blake can sense a bad boy. She’s drawn to them—like she is to her mysterious and brooding new client. The police believe that Rusty is involved with the case of a missing underage girl. Harper’s job is to find evidence to defend him. But is her sexy suspect a predator…or something else?

If Rusty is guilty of anything, it’s of stirring something primitive in Harper. The closer they get, the harder it is to believe the worst of him.

But in an underworld filled with sex trafficking, kidnapping, and murder, Harper will need to be cautious about whom she trusts. Because Rusty isn’t the only one with secrets.

Elisabeth Naughton’s ‘Deadly Secrets’ is a series that constantly surprises me, and much of that has to do with how Naughton weaves stories built on the unrelated personal histories of each adopted McClane sibling’s varied pasts. ‘Unspeakable’ is an engaging suspense right from the start and one that quite pointedly starts out by shaping Rusty McClane first, as a questionable protagonist and then later, a gruff and compelling shiny knight in armour living a double life and is quite worthy of the romantic-hero-accolade.

And it’s Rusty who shines, along with his demons, his irresistible vigilante persona—Stephen Amell as the Arrow keeps coming to mind—that he hides from everyone. However, I had my reservations about the disgraced ex-cop Harper Blake—her own shady history, her eagerness to work with Rusty and her personal agenda that she keeps from him—because for quite a bit of the story, the self-serving bit of dishonesty just to get her lost career back and her reliance on their sexual chemistry to get things moving kept nagging at me. With a quick-fire conflict-climax-resolution that was offered almost as an aside towards the end, it was admittedly, harder to root for a pairing as solidly as I thought I would after a spectacular beginning.

Danger and intrigue are present throughout which makes the book hard to put down once I dug in. There are brilliants scenes alternating between the gut-churning sex trade and the sultry heat that builds between Rusty and Harper, and coupled with a good number of players (and a series of ‘generational’ coincidences attributed to fate that might be a little hard to swallow) that Naughton juggles quite effortlessly.

So bottom-line here: my own quibbles with the heroine aside, ‘Unspeakable’ is a sufficiently complex, not too convoluted read and by and large, a pretty good addition to the RS genre that I’m always putting my nose in.

four-stars

Protected by Elisabeth Naughton

Protected by Elisabeth NaughtonProtected by Elisabeth Naughton
Series: Deadly Secrets #3
Published by Montlake Romance on March 20th 2018
Pages: 304
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Up-and-coming designer Kelsey McClane is on the cusp of success. Recently divorced, she should be enjoying her newfound freedom and glamorous future. Instead, she’s living in fear of the past. When she returns home to Portland on a press tour, danger creeps closer than ever. As threatening messages from her bitter ex-husband leave her vulnerable, a new man in her life makes her feel protected.

Former Army Ranger turned security professional Hunter O’Donnell is hired to guard Kelsey. When a shattering explosion rocks her world, Kelsey’s ex is the prime suspect, but Hunter speculates there’s more to the situation than Kelsey’s letting on. Intent on keeping her safe, he delves into Kelsey’s past. As the two work together to unmask her stalker’s identity, a fire ignites between them that they both struggle to contain.

While the investigation proceeds, it draws them closer not only to each other but also to a lethal plot that’s been in the works behind their backs. And with each new secret unveiled, it’s not just temptation putting them at risk—it’s a madman who will not stop until Kelsey is dead.

What I like so much about Romantic Suspense sub-genre is the blend of heart-pounding action and steamy romance (sometimes with a little mystery written into it) and when written well, provides a bum-clenching, fuck-the-world kind of escape that almost nothing comes close to. ‘Protected’ is one of those reads, reeling me in from the start with unresolved tension that’s almost immediately followed by an explosion that throws the life Kelsey McClane has been rebuilding back into chaos.

There’s a huge backstory to go into once the dust settles but I’ve found it an engaging read that was hard to put down, with several turns that were surprising but needed a little more suspension of disbelief. ‘Protected’ is nonetheless a good standalone, with minimal links to the rest of the series.

Elisabeth Naughton did write Kelsey and Hunter mostly as sympathetic characters: I understood Kelsey’s insecurities, empathised with the emotional abuse and the past she had and her reasons for drawing back from Hunter when she distrusted her own judgement. Warming up to Hunter took a little more time for me—the apparent two-timing act early on didn’t quite endear me to him—but seeing him stepping into his role as protector later on, strapping in despite his own reservations did make him and Kelsey a pairing that I thought I could get behind. There were waffling moments between them however, flawed as they were, and the HFN ending when the wounds have barely healed might seem somewhat unsatisfactory.

That said, ‘Protected’ was a thoroughly absorbing afternoon diversion, and didn’t get any better than the straight-up romantic suspense read.

four-stars

Gone by Elisabeth Naughton

Gone by Elisabeth NaughtonGone by Elisabeth Naughton
Series: Deadly Secrets #2
Published by Montlake Romance on January 10th 2017
Pages: 303
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

Three years ago, Alec and Raegan Devereaux lived every parent’s worst nightmare: their one-year-old daughter, Emma, was abducted from a park when Alec turned his back for just a moment. Emma was never found, and presumed dead. The crushing trauma, plus Alec’s unbearable guilt, ended the couple’s marriage.
Now a four-year-old girl matching Emma’s profile is found wandering a local park. Alec and Raegan are heartbroken to discover she’s not their daughter but are newly motivated to find closure…and each secretly feels desperate to be in the other’s presence again.
Alec suspects his vengeful biological father is behind Emma’s disappearance. But as Raegan investigates other abductions in the area, she sees a pattern—and begins to wonder if Emma’s kidnapping is actually linked to something more sinister.
As Alec and Raegan race to uncover the truth, a long-burning spark rekindles into smoldering passion, and they realize they need each other now more than ever.

Alex McClane struggles with more than disappointing his wife and family; he also battles a severe drinking addiction and the notion that his erratic, violent behaviour might be genetically inherited from a man whom he calls his biological father. This much—along with the overwhelming guilt—bring him to end a short-lived marriage that died when his daughter goes missing. Three years later, he isn’t in a better place until a call from the FBI brings his ex-wife back into his life, who incidentally, seems to be compiling research on child-abductions that indicate their daughter’s disappearance is anything but a coincidence.

I’d always wondered how Elisabeth Naughton was going to continue the ‘Dearly Secrets’ series, and ‘Gone’ seemed to be a good indication that the books would be about the adopted family members of the McClane family, with Alex’s story being the second book—and completely unrelated to his brother’s one. It works well as a standalone and quite possibly lies on a trigger fault-line for some as it deals with child abduction and addiction and the devastating effect it could have on a marriage.

The protagonists were clearly flawed in some ways that left narrative space for character growth: Alex’s constant denial and guilt—which devolve into self-pity after a while—destroying people and relationships around him, while Reagen seemed to be a bit of a spineless twit and a damsel in distress from the start (admirable as her determination not to believe her daughter is dead) as she pined for a man who’d not only walked cruelly away from her but also called for the divorce as he sought comfort in alcohol. It eventually did get better though, with some twists that hinted at a bigger conspiracy which still stretched my ability to suspend disbelief even as the plot trundled along from time to time.

‘Gone’ is a decent read nonetheless, and I’d be interested in knowing who’s (or what’s) next in this series.

three-stars

Repressed by Elisabeth Naughton

Repressed by Elisabeth NaughtonRepressed by Elisabeth Naughton
Series: Deadly Secrets #1
Published by Montlake Romance on July 26th 2016
Pages: 316
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

Hidden Falls is exactly as Samantha Parker left it—small, insular, and prone to gossip. Eighteen years have passed since she witnessed her brother’s murder, but she’s still the talk of the town. Until a handsome child psychologist with haunting memories of his own arrives.
Dr. Ethan McClane isn’t exactly a newcomer. If it weren’t for his latest case, he’d never set foot back in Hidden Falls. Thankfully, no one seems to recognize him as the troubled teen from years past. Not even Sam, the delightfully sharp and sexy high school chemistry teacher he can’t stop thinking about.
When Sam and Ethan work together to help one of her students, sparks ignite. But Sam’s hazy memories of a long-ago night concern Ethan, and unlocking the repressed images reveals a dark connection between them. As the horrors of the past finally come to light, their relationship isn’t the only thing in danger. A killer will strike again to keep an ugly secret hidden, and this time no one will be safe.

I wasn’t too sure what to expect of Elisabeth Naughton’s new series but my most recent memory of the Aegis Security series remains a fairly good one, so it didn’t hurt at all to give ‘Repressed’ a try.

A few chapters in, I thought that the story read like a novelisation of a crime drama or a movie: a small town brimming with secrets that aren’t of the good sort, filled with the worst kind of people who seem to be out for any pound of flesh they can get – literally so at times. There’s the prerequisite murder mystery buried under political influence and hazy memories, until a child-psychologist’s return stirs up the trouble everyone is trying to avoid.

But as with every Naughton book, there were parts I liked and parts I didn’t, which makes writing every review of hers tricky. Naughton’s writing and the elaborate plot of her story are engaging enough, yet the narrative itself doesn’t quite deviate much from the structure of many crime stories for me to find it prominently memorable. Yet I flew through the book, which made me think it’s an easy read simply because it isn’t draining as other crime thrillers can be.

Ethan’s and Sam’s relationship in itself isn’t too much of a surprise (even if they went from meeting to sex to love in a short time), but because plot and the intricacies of small town life seem to take precedence here, a large but frustrating part of what keeps it going is deception or avoidance of the issue that aren’t revealed until I was three-quarters of the way through. The secrets Ethan has been keeping and Sam’s repressed memories provide a missing piece of the jigsaw but by and large, there are hints about a fateful night 18 years ago, and these are sort of sufficient to help the guessing game I had gotten going on from the very start. There were some leaps of logic I had to get over, yet being so far removed from the past sins of a group of smarmy people made it difficult to be fully invested in a case that the two main leads are ultimately, only peripherally linked to.

three-stars

Fatal Pursuit by Elisabeth Naughton

Fatal Pursuit by Elisabeth NaughtonFatal Pursuit by Elisabeth Naughton
Series: Aegis #3
Published by Montlake Romance on July 28th 2015
Pages: 336
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

Five years ago, Aegis Security op manager Marley Addison’s lover died in a South American raid gone horribly wrong…or so she thought. When she receives a phone call telling her that he is still very much alive and in danger, she vows to bring him home safely, even if Aegis CEO and former Navy SEAL Jake Ryder has kept her out of the field for the last few years. Then Jake shows up in Colombia to help her, leaving Marley annoyed…and more than a little distracted by her alarmingly handsome boss.
As things between Marley and Jake heat up in the wilderness, they discover their rescue mission is filled with treachery. Now the domineering Jake has to rely on Marley for survival. But can she depend on him when their mission takes a shocking and deadly turn?

In ‘Fatal Pursuit’, it’s finally the badass and bad-tempered boss who’ll be going down in a spectacular (albeit not in a totally believable) fashion. And it’s Marley Addison who triggers a juggernaut of events that begins with an unexpected call from an ex-boyfriend who’d apparently died in South America 5 years ago. Marley doesn’t think twice about rushing to her ex’s aid into dangerous territory, but that is in part, a split-second decision made after Jake’s act of monumental stupidity during a security op without any regard for her professionalism or feelings. This particular journey however, unravels more than what Jake wants unravelling and his determination to keep things with Marley purely professional fails the moment things start going south (pun not fully intended).

The adventure really begins on page one and doesn’t really stop up until the end. Like any Indiana Jones movie, there’s a good dose of action, horizontal tangling (more than I expected) and a case of an ex who isn’t all he seems. The pursuit happens on many levels, both in the present and in recent history: Jake hightails it after Marley, who’s after her ex who is of dubious motivation and after something of his own. And the consequences are dire, for most part.

The standout for me personally in this series is Elisabeth Naughton’s treatment and understanding of relationships, or at least the in-depth exploration of the heroines’ motivations and feelings, even as her heroes all seem to exhibit the same emotional stutter that’s typical of this genre. Jake’s refusal to see Marley as anything but a receptionist for the longest time is as frustrating as it is sexist, and it wasn’t hard to like Marley for wanting to stand up on her own.

The conclusion is as tricky as I thought it would be, displaying a naïveté (I just couldn’t accept Jake’s sudden turnaround and formulaic response) about sudden and rushed revelations about love, need, care and happy-ever-afters, but what I could definitely appreciate was Marley not giving Jake an easy time when he really needed to figure out what he really wanted.

I finished ‘Fatal Pursuit’ as always as I always do with a continuing series, wondering about the new characters that Ms. Naughton has introduced (Allison and Ronan in particular) and hoping that there will be their own stories written – soon.

three-stars

Hold on to Me by Elisabeth Naughton

Hold on to Me by Elisabeth NaughtonHold on to Me (Against All Odds, #2) by Elisabeth Naughton
Series: Against All Odds #2
Published by Elisabeth Naughton Publishing LLC on February 18th 2014
Pages: 300
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
two-stars

From the New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author who brought you WAIT FOR ME comes the next emotional love story in Elisabeth Naughton's bestselling Against All Odds Series:

He thinks he’s finally found the one.
Mitch Mathews never believed in love—at least not the happily ever after kind. Then he met Simone Conners. Just one night with the sexy lawyer made him reevaluate his priorities and look toward a future he never planned. The only hang up is making her see it too.

She’s almost ready for a second chance.
What started out as a casual hookup with a rugged geologist has turned into something a whole lot more. Simone’s on the verge of handing over her heart, but fear over what Mitch will say and do when he learns who she used to be holds her back.

The past could destroy their future...
Just when Simone is about to take a chance on forever with Mitch, the mistakes of her past catch up with her. Suddenly it’s not just her safety on the line anymore, it’s his too. Forced into hiding, Mitch demands answers, and Simone realizes the only way to protect everything she holds dear is to delve into a past she’s spent fourteen years trying to forget. As they search for the truth, they discover secrets, lies and a rekindled passion that burns hotter than before. But they also uncover a conspiracy that threatens the very fabric of society. One that could cost them more than just their future…it could cost them their lives.


I’ve never had a problem with the originality of plot, the action and the suspense that Ms Naughton writes.

But I’m so sick of the same old, alarming and unfortunate spiel when it comes to characterisation: H/h led by overflowing emotions, leaving loads of secrets between them (for the unbelievable and stale reason of wanting to protect each other), only to jump to the wrong conclusions later…and turning the angst into a level of frustration that makes me want to beg Ms Naughton to let her H/h to grow a sizeable brain that’s worthy of her readers.


Why can’t the H/h for once, work together to resolve the situation? Where did teamwork, use of intellect and good ol’ unresolved tension disappear to, leaving only the cinders of overblown teenage angst between them?

two-stars

Extreme Measures by Elisabeth Naughton

Extreme Measures by Elisabeth NaughtonExtreme Measures (Aegis, #1) by Elisabeth Naughton
Series: Aegis #1
Published by Montlake Romance on July 8th 2014
Pages: 330
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

Being prepared for any scenario is the trademark of any good CIA operative, and Eve Wolfe is one of the best. But when her latest mission literally explodes in her face, she wakes up labeled a traitor and—even more surprising—in the custody of elite Aegis Security operative and ex-lover Zane Archer. Although she still secretly has feelings for Zane, he’s now demanding the one thing that she can’t give him: the truth.
When he caught her breaking the rules years ago, Zane let Eve walk away without an explanation. Now someone has not only sabotaged Aegis but also turned an American city into a war zone, and all signs point to Eve. Zane needs answers that can come only from Eve’s still-tempting lips, and he finally has the elusive operative right where he wants her—at his mercy.

I was jittery with anticipation when I realised that Ms Naughton was finally releasing a full novel in the Aegis Security series. The suspense, the intricate plot, the breakneck pace and the fluency of her writing have always drawn me into her works and this one isn’t any different.

But the H/h disappointed me big time and that’s probably why I can’t be as effusive about this book as I thought I’d be. Eve and Zane do scorch the sheets very imaginatively (Naughton writes them hot!) but I was left with the feeling that sex’s pretty much the only tangible connection between them. Eve’s insistence on keeping secrets and running pretty much annoyed me by the time I was halfway through and Zane’s inability to see past the fly on his pants wasn’t very much better. The saving grace, strangely enough, was the minor ‘pairing’ of Miller and Olivia which instantly felt more real to me.

I also had difficulty in distinguishing and differentiating the male voices in Aegis. Thus far, Ryder, Archer and Miller are very similarly presented with no distinctive traits – as men who cuss loads, are gruff and are constantly irritated. Hopefully that’ll change as more books in this series get published.

three-stars