Life Support by Nicki Edwards

Posted in Advanced Reader Copy/ Chick Lit/ Contemporary Romance/ Netgalley/ Reviews 4th February 2016
Life Support by Nicki EdwardsLife Support by Nicki Edwards
Series: Escape to the Country #3
Published by Momentum Books on February 25th 2016
Pages: 285
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
two-stars

A piece of you will always be left at home.
When emergency nurse Emma Chirnside's husband dies unexpectedly, she finds herself tangled in lies and secrets. The last thing she expected to receive from him was a heritage listed mansion in her home town of Birrangulla, but with her in-laws causing chaos, she flees to the country, hoping to rebuild her life. Fleeing, it turns out, creates new complications. The estate manager is none other than her teenage crush Tom Henderson.
Tom hasn't thought about Emma since high school. They'd always been friendly – like Emma, Tom knows how it feels to care for a sick mother from a young age – but as far as Tom was aware, they were nothing more than friends. He had no idea of Emma's feelings for him, or the way he'd once broken her heart.
When their worlds collide again, Emma realizes the depth of her feelings for Tom, and wonders if she's been given another chance to find true love. But Tom has demons of his own.
Will Tom's secrets drive them apart and break her heart again? Or will they both get their happy ever after?
A sweet medical romance set in the outback of Australia, perfect for fans of Fiona McArthur and Melanie Milburne.

Emma O’Connor’s return to the countryside in the wake of an unexpected tragedy brings her back an aimless but wealthy one – and straight into contact with her teenage crush Tom Henderson, who’s the acting estate manager of a homestead she’s inherited. The close proximity to Tom is dangerous for an infatuation that had never died and even as she and Tom seem to grow closer, a great number of secrets and a basic lack of trust ensure that they can’t connect fully.

‘Life Support’ is very much the story centred around Emma; written solely in her perspective, the book gives detailed insights into medical emergencies that, while interesting, detracted from the family drama that didn’t seem to have head or tail for me. Tom/Emma however, seemed like a forced pairing, thrust together because of circumstances beyond their control but not connecting on a romantic level at all. I found their (lack of) chemistry to be in question, but the behaviour of Tom was distasteful, shallow and unpredictable to the point where I wondered if his tightly-kept secrets were making him bipolar in nature, kept only unchecked by Emma’s passive-aggressive stance towards him.

The author’s love of the country is nonetheless evident, demonstrated clearly in her descriptions of the rural landscape and even if I found it hard to buy into the romance, ‘Life Support’ would most likely appeal to those seeking a mix of these elements.

two-stars

You Might Also Like

Back to top

Pin It on Pinterest